03/04/2017
Share this story Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

New Canna multi-media installation - video report

f2f057df-7777-42d3-a497-ccac11f3af8d

A disused pier waiting room on Canna Pier has been transformed into a multimedia installation for visitors to the Hebridean island of Canna.

Musician and artist Yvonne Lyon worked with the Canna community, visual artist Anne McKay and Canna Archivist Fiona MacKenzie to co-create the new installation which was premiered at the Pier Waiting Room. The installation has been inspired by archive recordings held on Canna, an island which is cared for by National Trust for Scotland which is currently home to 23 residents.

The recordings tap into a unique collection of audio recordings made from the 1930s onwards by folklorists John Lorne Campbell and Margaret Fay Shaw (pictured left), who both feature throughout, and inspired the installation.

From Gaelic songs recorded by John Lorne Campbell and light-hearted recordings of Margaret Fay Shaw’s cat to new songs created by Yvonne Lyon and the Canna community, visitors to the island will enjoy a unique interpretation of Canna’s audio heritage.

Yvonne Lyon said: “Working as a Guest Sound Curator on Canna has been enormously inspiring. To have the opportunity to mine old archives and have space and time to re-imagine them, breathe new life into them, create new work and involve the community has been a profound privilege. Hopefully the new art created will encourage others to explore the old!”

Watch the Centre of the World Film

Fiona Mackenzie, Canna House Archivist/Manager at the National Trust for Scotland said: “Turning our little empty waiting room on Canna Pier into a welcoming, interesting and vibrant place for visitors and locals to learn about our island's heritage has been a wonderful experience.

"The community has learned about our own Canna Sound Archive and the potential that we have for using the 'old' to create the 'new'. It has re-opened the community’s eyes and ears to these treasures. It was also wonderful to work with professional creatives, whose activities the schoolchildren in particular have embraced fully! We thank the Connecting Scotland’s Sounds project for giving us this chance.”

Connecting Scotland’s Sounds is a project based at the National Library of Scotland, championing the preservation and sharing of Scotland’s heritage sound recordings from 2016 to 2017 with support from the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation. To find out more, visit the project website.

Back to "Nostalgia" Category

03/04/2017 Share this story   Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

Recent Updates

Geologist James Hutton died - On this day in history

Geologist James Hutton, who carried out pioneering studies into the formation of the earth, died on 26 March ...


Swandro-Orkney Coastal Archaeology Trust celebrates royal patronage

His Royal Highness Prince Charles, the Duke of Rothesay, has agreed to take on the patronage of the ...


Robert the Bruce was crowned at Scone - On this day in history

On 25 March 1306, Robert the Bruce was crowned King of Scots at Scone. ...


Princess Louise: The career of a royal artist, part 4

In part 4 of our history series based on new research on the life of Princess Louise, daughter of Queen ...


Other Articles

King James VI of Scotland also became King James I of England - On this day in history

On 24 March 1603, King James VI of Scotland also became King James I of England, on the death of Queen ...


Reverend Thomas Burns founded his Free Church settlement in New Zealand - On this day in history

On 23 March 1848, Reverend Thomas Burns founded the Free Church Settlement in New Zealand, which later became ...


Architect Alexander Greek Thomson died - On this day in history

Architect Alexander 'Greek' Thomson died on 22 March 1875 in Glasgow.


The Murrayfield Stadium was opened - On this day in history

Edinburgh's Murrayfield Stadium was opened on 21 March 1925.