12/06/2017
Share this story Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

Rough Wooing exhibition, John Gray Centre, 15 July to 17 October 2017

2e468ecb-8a39-49b1-9f8c-3f7f77c19a7a

A new exhibition in East Lothian explores the intense period of warfare between 1542 and 1551, triggered by the ambitions of England's Henry VIII to marry his son to Mary Queen of Scots.

'Rough Wooing' features:

  • one of the bloodiest battles in Scottish history, Pinkie Cleugh, 1547
  • the longest siege, the Siege of Haddington, 1548-9
  • the story of one of the wealthiest but least-known nunneries in the Lothians, the ‘Abbey’ of St Mary, Haddington.

Each of the above linked to the destiny of the young Mary Stewart, who would become known to history as Mary Queen of Scots. This thread is picked up in the companion Personal View exhibit featuring the Seton family and their links with Mary Queen of Scots.

Rough Wooing exhibition details

Exhibits include interactive and multimedia displays, for example a 3D image of Pinkie Cleugh with the disposition of the English and Scottish forces. There are replica costumes and weapons. Visitors can try a medieval jack, simple body armour, and also women’s headgear of the period recreated by a Queen Margaret University student of Costume Design and Construction. 

Evidence of the Siege of Haddington is provided by East Lothian U3A Archaeology group’s survey of hundreds of shot marks on St Mary’s Church and a recently unearthed gargoyle head toppled from the church during the conflict.

Rarely-seen exhibits include a nun’s cloak clasp from Haddington Abbey, lent by the NMS, and the key to Seton Palace from the Earl of Wemyss’ collection. Pages of pre-Reformation manuscripts recovered from the bindings of the Haddington Treasurer’s accounts, now in the care of the John Gray Centre, are displayed.

One is a fragment of plainsong from Haddington Priory, one of many religious buildings burned by Hertford’s forces in 1544. Visitors can listen to a recent recording of this music.

John Gray Centre, 15 Lodge Street, Haddington EH41 3DX; tel: 01620 820680; website.

John Gray Centre Museum opening hours: April to September, Monday to Friday 10.00 – 17.00.  Saturday 10.00 to 16.00. Sunday 13.00 to 16.00

October closed Wednesdays and Thursdays but otherwise as above.

 

 

(images copyright John Gray Centre- from top - breviary fragment from the 15th century; the deathbed testament of Prioress Elizabeth Hepburn)

Back to "Scottish history" Category

12/06/2017 Share this story   Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

Recent Updates

Sir William Wallace was executed - On this day in history

Sir William Wallace was executed on 23 August 1305. ...


The Battle of the Standard was fought - On this day in history

The Battle of the Standard was fought on 22 August 1138. ...


Scottish inventor William Murdoch was born - On this day in history

Scottish inventor William Murdoch was born on 21 August 1754. ...


Scottish poet William Miller died - On this day in history

Scottish poet William Miller died on 20 August 1872.


Other Articles

Scottish engineer James Nasmyth was born - On this day in history

Scottish engineer James Nasmyth was born on 19 August 1808.


Arthur Elphinstone was executed - On this day in history

Arthur Elphinstone, Lord Balmerino, was executed on 18 August 1746.


The Battle of Verneuil was fought - On this day in history

The Battle of Verneuil was fought on 17 August 1424.


Battle of Pinkie re-enactment weekend - 16 and 17 September 2017 at Newhailes Estate, East Lothian

The Battle of Pinkie of 1547, the biggest battle ever to take place on Scottish soil, is set to be fought ...