18/12/2017
Share this story Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

A history of Aberdour Castle, featured in Outlander as Sainte Anne de Beaurpe monastery

077d369b-d0ee-459f-b4da-3f24a7654946

Aberdour Castle in Fife is one of Scotland’s two oldest dateable castles (alongside Castle Sween in Argyll) with part of the building dating back to the 12th century. Read History Scotland’s exclusive unofficial Outlander history guide.

The castle was originally a two-storey hall house, whose remains are still visible within the castle complex today. The building is believed to date from the early to mid 12th century and over the centuries has been the home of families including the Mortimers, Randolphs and Douglases.

Aberdour Castle has been altered many times over the centuries, as it evolved to suit various families, and additional buildings were added to the original hall house, to make the castle bigger and more suitable for domestic life. Of particular note is the east range, which was built by William Douglas, the 8th Earl of Morton in the 17th century.

There’s plenty to explore outside the castle building too, with an unusual beehive-shaped doocot built in the 16th century, with space for 600 doves, as well as extensive gardens, including a walled section.

MORE: Outlander series 3 location map

In the time-travel TV series Outlander, Aberdour Castle’s Old Kitchen and Long Gallery were the film locations when the castle doubled as Sainte Anne de Beaurpe monastery, the French location to which Jamie fled after his imprisonment.

Aberdour Castle is cared for by Historic Environment Scotland.

Aberdour Castle, Aberdour, Fife KY3 0SL; website.

Castle © Andy Hawkins; doocot © Kim Traynor

Back to "Travel" Category

18/12/2017 Share this story   Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

Recent Updates

The Burrell Collection was opened - On this day in Scottish history

The Burrell Collection was opened on 21 October 1983.


Colin Campbell 1st Baron of Clyde was born - On this day in Scottish history

Colin Campbell, 1st Baron Clyde was born on 20 October 1792.


The first public sedan chairs in Scotland became available - On this day in Scottish history

Scotland's first public hire sedan chairs became available on 19 October 1687.


Queen consort Margaret Tudor died on 18 October 1541

Queen consort Margaret Tudor died on 18 October 1541.


Other Articles

The best Scottish castles to visit – History Scotland’s ultimate castles guide

Which are the best Scottish castles to explore? Which castles in Scotland are open during the winter? Plan ...


History events in Scotland - November 2018

Discover things to do in Scotland in November with our round-up of history-inspired events. ...


Craigmillar Castle to stage Mary Queen of Scots light projection event - 1 to 4 November 2018

Experience Craigmillar Castle in a different light with a new after-dark event ‘Spotlight on Mary Queen of ...


The Skye Bridge opened - on this day in Scottish history

The Skye Bridge opened on 16 October 1995.