31 October 2021
Rachel Bellerby, History Scotland's editor, talks to Shona Sinclair, curator at the Mary Queen of Scots Visitor Centre in Jedburgh, about the building's key role in the Stewart queen's story
In this ten-minute interview, Rachel Bellerby talks to Shona Sinclair, curator at the Mary Queen of Scots Visitor Centre in Jedburgh about the building's role in a key period in the Stewart queen's story, and we take a look back at what the Centre would have been like in the 1930s when it opened as a visitor attraction.
The museum in the 1930s
The below images, published with kind permission of the Mary Queen of Scots Visitor Centre, show the museum in the 1930s.
A 1930s postcard of the House, by A.R. Edwards
Mary Queen of Scots House banqueting hall, 1932 (Valentine's Sepiatype postcard)
Mary Queen of Scots House kitchen (1932 Valentine's postcard)
Visit the Mary Queen of Scots House
The Mary Queen of Scots Visitor Centre is open daily 10am-4pm (closed Tues and Weds) until 30 November 2021. It will reopen in March 2022. Book your ticket here. Entry is free, donations welcome to help the charity, whose aims are to:
• Add to its collections exploring the rich heritage of Jedburgh and its people
• Create learning and leisure resources for schools and communities
• Digitise its collection, making it more widely available to the public