Aberdeen's UNESCO-recognised burgh records now freely available to a global audience
Aberdeen's earliest burgh records will now be opened to the world after researchers painstakingly transcribed more than 1.5 million words contained within their volumes.
Researchers in a project based at the University of Aberdeen have worked with archivists at Aberdeen City Council, where the records are held, to decipher the complex Scots and Latin text which constitutes one of the great reservoirs of historical information on urban life anywhere in northern Europe.
The resulting digital transcription, together with the original images of the pages from eight volumes covering a period from 1398 to 1511, have been made accessible online – meaning they can now be viewed from anywhere in the world.
Intriguing details of medieval life
It has taken researchers three years to unpick the complex hand written entries which contain details of everyday life in the reigns of Robert III, James I, James II, James III, and James IV, and run to more words than the complete works of Shakespeare.
Dr Jackson Armstrong who led the project said: “The early council registers are an important cultural asset providing a great insight into Scottish history and language. They are so significant that in 2013 they were recognised by the UK national commission for UNESCO, a body of the United Nations responsible for the protection of the world’s cultural heritage.
“This important corpus of material will now be much more accessible to others investigating medieval and renaissance life,” he added.
“The registers are a local archive but they stand for all of Scotland in this period. What survives from Aberdeen alone before 1500 comprises more than that of all other Scottish towns combined."
An area facing the terror of plague
The records give clues about the region’s response to outbreaks of plague, in one entry from 1499 detailing the setting up of two lines or quarantine first around the town and then in the hinterland stretching from the river Dee on the southern edge of Aberdeen, out to St Ternan’s (modern-day Banchory) in the west, and from there up through Monymusk to Strathbogie (modern-day Huntly).
As editorial research fellow, Dr Edda Frankot coordinated the transcription of the material. She said that the need for researchers to spend hours – and sometimes days – deciphering just a few paragraphs of text had now been removed, meaning greater focus can be placed on unlocking the historical secrets they contain.
“Getting to grips with the information contained within more than 5,000 pages is no easy task, not least because of the mix of Latin and Scots and the particularities of the handwriting of the period. Some of the pages presented a challenge because they have suffered from damage over the centuries, while others remain in pristine condition.
“It meant progress on some days was faster than on others but in just over two years we had successfully transcribed every word contained within the volumes. After three years we had completed the detailed checking, editing and processing of the digital transcription.”
“It has been a challenging project and, when the team started, deciphering just a couple dense pages could take most of the day. But as we became more and more familiar with recurring letter forms and sentence structure the speed increased and by the end together we could transcribe nearly seventy pages a week.”
Explore the records
The website for the Aberdeen Registers Online: 1398-1511 can be accessed here.
The project was led by Dr Jackson Armstrong, a senior lecturer in history at the University of Aberdeen, and was funded by the Leverhulme Trust, Aberdeen City Council and the Research Institute of Irish and Scottish Studies.
Get Scottish history news, fascinating features and competitions when you sign up free of charge to History Scotland Monthly.
(Report and images courtesy of University of Aberdeen)