Saltire Society Scotland's National Book Awards 2022 shortlist announced

15 November 2022
The Saltire Society has announced the shortlisted titles for the 2022 Scotland’s National Book Awards, which include works on Mary Queen of Scots and Scotland's relationship with the African slave trade.

The winners of all six prizes, as well as the Saltire Scottish Book of the Year, The Lifetime Achievement Award, The Ross Roy Medal and three industry awards, will be announced at a ceremony at The Traverse Theatre in Edinburgh on Thursday 8 December.

Scotland’s National Book Awards, co-ordinated by the Saltire Society, recognise work across six literary categories (Fiction, Non-Fiction, Research, History, Poetry and First Book) and three publishing categories (Publisher, Emerging Publisher and Cover Design).  The Literary Awards see the winners each receive a cash prize of £2,000 and go on to be considered for the top prize of Saltire Scottish Book of the Year, receiving a further £4,000.

Scottish History Book of the Year 2022 shortlist

  • Blood Legacy by Alex Renton (Published by Canongate Books)
  • Mael Coluim III, Canmore by Neil McGuigan (Published by Birlinn Ltd)
  • R.B. Cunninghame Graham and Scotland: Party, Prose, and Political Aesthetic by Lachlan Gow Munro (Published by Edinburgh University Press)
  • Slaves and Highlanders: Silenced Histories of Scotland and the Caribbean by David Alston (Published by Edinburgh University Press)
  • Embroidering Her Truth by Clare Hunter (Published by Hodder & Stoughton – Sceptre)
  • Putting the Tea in Britain by Les Wilson (Published by Birlinn Ltd)


Scottish Research Book of the Year 2022 shortlist

Content continues after advertisements
  • A Long and Tangled Saga by Bob Chambers (Published by Acair Books)
  • Ainmean Tuineachaidh Leòdhais /The Settlement Names of Lewis by Richard A V Cox (Published by Clann Tuirc)
  • Craftworkers in Nineteenth Century Scotland: Making and Adapting in an Industrial Age by Stana Nenadic (Published by Edinburgh University Press)
  • Recovering Scottish History: John Hill Burton and Scottish National Identity in the Nineteenth Century by Craig Beveridge (Published by Edinburgh University Press)
  • Surveying the Anthropocene: Environment and Photography Now Edited by Patricia Macdonald (Published by Studies in Photography)
  • Scripting the Nation: Court Poetry and the Authority of History in Late Medieval Scotland by Katherine H Terrell (Published by The Ohio State University Press)

The Scottish National Book Awards have been awarded by the Saltire Society since 1937 and in 2022 are supported by The National Library of Scotland and the Scottish Historical Review Trust. All entrants must be born in Scotland, live in Scotland or their books must be about Scotland. 

The winners of each category will receive a bespoke Award created by Inverness-based artist Simon Baker of Evergreen Studios.  Winners of all the Awards will be announced at the Traverse Theatre in Edinburgh on the evening of 8 December attended by the judges, shortlisted authors and publishers. 

The ceremony will be live-streamed and tickets to watch online 
are available from 15 November on the Saltire Society website.


(report courtesy of The Saltire Society)

Content continues after advertisement